Members' ethics

The Code of Conduct for Members
The conduct of members of Parliament is regulated in part by the Code of Conduct for Members. The Code of Conduct consists of a preamble and seven clauses. The individual clauses deal with:
  1. conflicts of interest
  2. bribery
  3. gifts
  4. use of public resources
  5. use of confidential information
  6. duties as a member of Parliament
  7. secondary employment or engagements.

The full text of the Code of Conduct is available here.

More information
New South Wales Legislative Council Practice, Chapter 5.

The Code of Conduct for Ministers of the Crown
In addition to the Code of Conduct for Members, ministers must abide by the Code of Conduct for Ministers of the Crown.

The Code of Conduct for Ministers of the Crown is the responsibility of the Executive Government. Members of the public should contact the Department of Premier and Cabinet for a copy of the Code.

The pecuniary interest disclosure regime
In addition to observing the Code of Conduct, members of Parliament must comply with requirements relating to the disclosure of their pecuniary interests.

Members make a primary return disclosing their interests at the beginning of their term in Parliament. Every 6 months after that, members must make either an ordinary or supplementary return disclosing ongoing interests. A member may also make a discretionary disclosure at any time.

The types of interests members must disclose in their returns are:
  • Real property – property in which members have an 'interest'
  • Sources of income – all income over $500 other than salary of office
  • Gifts – all gifts of cumulative value of more than $500
  • Contributions to travel – of value of more than $250 (including flight upgrades)
  • Interests and positions in corporations – eg stocks and shares, directorships
  • Positions in unions and professional/business organisations
  • Debts – of cumulative value of more than $500, excluding home loans, debts for goods and services disposed of within a year
  • Dispositions of property, and
  • Engagement to provide a service involving use of a member's position.

The Register of Disclosures by Members of the Legislative Council can be viewed by appointment with the Office of the Clerk. Click here for contact information.

More information
The specific interests members must disclose within each of these categories are set out in the Constitution (Disclosures by Members) Regulation 1983.

The four types of pecuniary interest forms are attached below:

Form 1 Primary return.pdfForm 2 Ordinary return.pdfForm 3 Supplementary ordinary return.pdfForm 4 Discretionary return.pdf